New in Dundee – Quirky Coo Gift Shop

bunting

This past weekend, I was hurrying up Union Street in Dundee on my way into town when I caught a glimpse of snow flakes and glitter in a shop window. Hang on, I thought, I didn’t know there was a shop there. I nipped across the road to take a closer look and discovered the Quirky Coo.

Inside the shop, which I realised used to be a golf shop, I was warmly greeted by the owners David and Viv. Their adventure into the retail trade began about a month ago, after many years of working together in the public sector. The Perth-based friends see great potential in Dundee, and the location of the shop is well placed for visitors to the soon-to-be-built V&A and the Malmaison (which opens next week). 

The shop is bright and airy, and filled with wonderful gifts for young and old. I liked that the shop was not too packed with products, so that one doesn’t feel overwhelmed. Do pop in and have a nosy, and tell them that I sent you.

Here are some of my favourite products –

pjsThese jars are filled with very cute PJs for little ones – perfect for the Xmas Eve Hamper tradition that is always so popular on Mumsnet. If you haven’t heard of this, it is a lovely tradition.

On Xmas Eve, a box/hamper appears with a few small presents. New PJs, a mug for hot chocolate with marshmallows, a Xmas book … Have a read of the thread for more ideas. It is a good way of spreading the fun out over an extra day, and after the excitement of a couple of little presents, the kids settle down with hot chocolate and a story, then go to bed with little fuss.

The Quirky Coo has a great selection of children’s books, from the Scottish version of Gruffalo’s Child, to the Santa is Coming to Dundee picture book, and many more.

harris tweed bags

tweedMany of the products are made by local crafts people, such as these gorgeous Harris Tweed bags made Eli Mac of Errol,  and the chocolates by Wicked Chocolate in Perth

burdA special mention to the fantastic prints by Stephen O’Neil, and the cards by Dundee-based card maker Cockadoodle Design with these witty and stylish products.

pics

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

On my way back home, I passed the almost finished Malmaison Dundee. Isn’t it looking AMAZING?

 

 

malmaison

